2019 · Review

Review – Breaking The Lore by Andy Redsmith

This book caught my attention because it was placed in the Sci-Fi and Fantasy section on NetGalley. It was obviously a detective novel, but why was it deemed a fantasy? Then I saw the reference to Ben Aaronvitch-> I pressed the request button!

This ARC was provided to me by NetGalley in return for an honest review. Thank you.

Breaking The Lore

by Andy Redsmith

Synopsis by NetGalley / GoodReads

A magical, mischievous mystery perfect for fans of Douglas Adams and Ben Aaronovitch

How do you stop a demon invasion… when you don’t believe in magic? Inspector Nick Paris is a man of logic and whisky. So staring down at the crucified form of a murder victim who is fifteen centimetres tall leaves the seasoned detective at a loss… and the dead fairy is only the beginning.

Suddenly the inspector is offering political asylum to dwarves, consulting with witches, getting tactical advice from elves and taking orders from a chain-smoking talking crow who, technically, outranks him.

With the fate of both the human and magic worlds in his hands Nick will have to leave logic behind and embrace his inner mystic to solve the crime and stop an army of demons from invading Manchester!

My Opinion

Highlights

  • the creatures
  • diversity of creatures
  • Manchester!

Overall

I didn’t know what to expect to from this book. It sounded interesting but in the end, fell a bit flat to me.
It was OK and enjoyable, but too stereotypical and obvious to me. I didn’t dislike it, but I didn’t love it either.

The ending was very random! which is probably the word that explains the entire book; very random.

The best thing about this book was that it took place in Manchester, UK. I used to live there and at one point in the book I got quite “homesick”.

The Story

The story premise is how do you solve a murder when you don’t believe in magic? well, that wasn’t much of a problem after the first few pages. Or it didn’t feel like a problem after those pages. Detective Paris turned around fast, but didn’t admit to it before the end. I tend to dislike it when the premise matches less than 1/4 or the book.

The story overall was entertaining but at places tries too hard and other places were very stereotypical.

World Building

The world builds slowly due to the main characters slow exploration and learning of this new found world. The MC struggles to come to grips with the new stuff happening around him. The world building overall was a very shallow incline. Sometimes, it was too slow to me, but it made sense in the story as the MC suddenly realises something or get some more information from someone who had been holding back.

Magic System

As this world isn’t magical there is only magic with magical beings. The magic and how it works is revealed throughout the book so I can’t say too much about it, but it made sense.

Characters

Inspector Nick Paris is the main character and the narrator and he was alright. I don’t have a lot of feeling for this guy. I felt sometimes he was a bit short sighted and stereotypical.

In addition, there is his second Sergeant Bonetti. He is (obviously) built like a rugby player but dumb as a troll.

Then there is a clever elf.

A cockney accented talking chain smoking crow. Obviously.

Dwarfs that are good at finding things, are charming and good fighters, but not the most intelligent creatures.

Fairies; like barbies with wigs. Or that was my image of them.

All the creatures are stereotypical and have no surprises. Not to me anyway. In the beginning, it was boring to find these things out, but after a while, I just shook my head and rolled my eyes. Of course, they were like that!

There aren’t many female characters in here but the ones who are have high positions (thank you!) but are not the best at comping with the surprise of these creatures. Unless you are the witch. Then you are an endless chain of surprise and fearlessness, and weird.

LGBT?

Nope. not even mentioned. A very straight book.

Writing

the writing was fine. It was an easy talkative language with some sarcasm and what I at the time of reading though was trying to be funny but wasn’t. Turns out it wasn’t trying, it was meant to be funny.

There was also repetition in this book which annoyed me a bit. The narrator kept telling me his surprise over his second passed his sergeant exam. by the second one I kind of got the message. By the fifth, I was sighing.

Apart from that, it was a quick and easy read. I didn’t see any spelling mistakes or have any issues with sentences or structure.

Summary

I feel this review came out a bit negative, but I didn’t dislike the book. I didn’t love it either. It was OK in a positive way.

Recommended to people who like funny fantasy.

Have you read this? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “Review – Breaking The Lore by Andy Redsmith

Leave a Reply to Jocelyn Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s