Review

Review – We Hunt The Flame (Sands of Arawiya #1) by Hafsah Faizal

I never got to this book when it was originally released last year but I was luck and given a second chance.

This ARC was provided to me by NetGalley in return for an honest review. Thank you.

We Hunt the Flame (Sands of Arawiya #1)

by Hafsah Faizal

Set in a richly detailed world inspired by ancient Arabia, Hafsah Faizal’s We Hunt the Flame is a breathtaking debut about discovery, conquering fear and taking identity into your own hands. The first in the Sands of Arawiya duology, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone series.

People lived because she killed. People died because he lived. 

Zafira is the Hunter. Forced to disguise herself as a man, she risks everything to provide for her people.

Nasir is the Prince of Death. A feared assassin who is forever bound to the command of his father, the sultan.

Both are legends in their kingdom – but neither wants to be. And when Zafira embarks on a dangerous quest to return magic to their suffering land, Nasir is sent on a similar mission. But as their journey unfolds, an anvient evil begins to stir . . . 

Don’t miss the epic sequel and conclusion to the duology, We Free The Stars.

interesting characters
vivid world

I thought going in that I would love it but I was also a bit hesitant cause I’m quite fed up with YA fantasy at the time of picking it up. But I loved it! I’m so relieved.

The story follows Zafira and Nasir. Zafira has taken up the role of a hunter to help feed the starving community, but unlike others, she hunts in a magical forest where no-one manages to escape with their minds intake. Zafira does. Nasir is the sultan’s son and his personal assassin. Not by choice but by orders.

I loved the layout of the story. There was only one place where I got confused and question why something happened. It’s a moment towards the end when Zafirs disappears and when we come back to her she has changed. It seemed like something magical had changed her and I didn’t fully buy it. Maybe I missed something. But in comparison to the rest of the story, it’s a minor issue.

The world is introduced to us with the heavy parts first and the slowly explained. We first meet the protagonist when she is in the magical forest and the source of the magic and lack of is trickle feed after that. It was a very efficient way of doing it. And I liked it a lot.

The magic is based on a location and its a big part of the main plotline so I won’t tell too much.

Zafira – the badass hunter who feeds her village. I liked her. I liked the change between her attitude in men’s clothing vs female clothing. And her thinking resonated with me in her action of hiding a certain part of her body to not attract attention. I’m so with you!

Nasir – the cold-blooded assassin who is just a cinnamon roll. I like Nasir. His actions and hints made me question other parts of the story.

Nope.

Well written but the formating of this ARC got in the way of enjoying most of it. I’m sure this formating is not there in the final copy and I should judge by it but it did lessen my enjoyment of the book.

However, the author has a great way of hinting at events and foreshadowing. Yes, it’s YA and tends to be obvious but at the same time, I enjoyed the breadcrumbs given.

Loved the book even though the formating annoyed me. I will pick up the second book at some point and I’m curious to see what this author does after the series ends.

Have you read this? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “Review – We Hunt The Flame (Sands of Arawiya #1) by Hafsah Faizal

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s